XIV Memoriał Huberta Jerzego Wagnera

XIV Hubert Jerzy Wagner Memorial

17-19 May 2016

TAURON Arena Kraków

17 May (Tuesday)5:30 p.m. Belgium – Serbia8:30 p.m. Poland – Bulgaria18 May (Wednesday)5:30 p.m. Bulgaria – Serbia 8:30 p.m. Poland –Belgium19 May (Thursday)5:30 p.m. Belgium – Bulgaria 8:30 p.m. Poland – Serbia More information: www.fundacjawagnera.pl/pl.

Hubert Jerzy Wagner Memorial is one of the most significant friendly volleyball tournaments in the world. Only one national team rated by FIVB in the world top 15 have not taken part in the Memorial yet – the USA. So far, in thirteen editions, 25 national teams from all around the world have participated in this tournament.

Hubert Jerzy Wagner went down in history of the world and Polish volleyball as a remarkable coach and the leader of the most significant successes of Polish national team. It took him only one year to create a totally new quality of his players’ game, which led to the sensational World Championship title in 1974 in Mexico. Two years later under his leadership the national team achieved another tremendous success, the gold medal at the Olympic Games in Montreal.

The first Memorial (2003) began exactly 527 days after Hubert Jerzy Wagner passed away. This year fans in TAURON Arena Kraków will see top European teams: beside World Champions – Poland – as a host, also: Belgium, Bulgaria and Serbia.

Some interesting facts:

  • 4 500 000 – a record-breaking TV audience for the Memorial game. That is the number of people watching the last match of the 9th Hubert Jerzy Wagner Memorial in Katowice played between the national teams of Russia and Poland.
  • 218 000 – the number of spectators who watched the matches during Hubert Jerzy Wagner Memorial, which gives an average of 17,000 on each tournament.
  • 15 000 – a record-breaking attendance during the Memorial. This is the number of spectators who watched the last two days of the tournament in TAURON Arena Kraków in 2014.
  • 200 – a record-breaking number of accreditation applications from sports journalists willing to report on the Memorial (Zielona Góra, 2012).
  • 11 – that many cities have hosted the Memorial so far. Apart from Olsztyn, Łódź, Bydgoszcz, Katowice, Zielona Góra, Płock, Kraków and Toruń – the nominal hosts, the single games were also played in Iława (2004, 2006), Ostróda (2006, 2007) and Elbląg (2007)

tel.: +48 733 376 080

Weronika Plata